Commonwealth Short Story Prize
Current News

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2022 (Get Up To £5,000) /How To Apply

Commonwealth Short Story registration 2022 has commence, How to apply for Commonwealth Short Story, Commonwealth Writers believes in the transformative power of creative expression in all its forms. We work with local and international partners to identify and deliver a wide range of cultural projects. Our activities take place in Commonwealth countries, but our community is global. Read More.

Submissions close 1 November 2021.

Commonwealth Writers is the cultural initiative of the Commonwealth Foundation. We inspire and connect writers and storytellers across the world, bringing personal stories to a global audience.

The prize is free to enter and open to any citizen of a Commonwealth country who is aged 18 and over and also Regional winners each receive £2,500 and the opportunity to be published online by Granta magazine, and the overall winner receives £5,000.

Commonwealth Writers is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words) Link to apply United Nations World Food Program (Get Up To $100,000)/How To Apply


  • Each regional winner receives £2,500, and their story is published online on Granta, the magazine of new writing.
  • One of the regional winners is then selected as the overall winner, who receives £5,000 – one of the highest amounts for an international prize for unpublished short stories.


  • Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth country or stateless persons currently residing in a Commonwealth country. The Commonwealth Foundation will request verification of citizenship status before winners are selected. Entries from citizens of non-Commonwealth countries are not eligible.
  • For regional purposes, entries will be judged by country of citizenship. Where the writer has dual citizenship (of two Commonwealth countries), the entry will be judged in the region where the writer is permanently resident.
  • There is no requirement for the writer to have current residence in a Commonwealth country, providing that they are a citizen of a Commonwealth country.
  • Entrants must be aged 18 years or over on November 1, 2021.
  • Entries from previous overall winners of the Commonwealth Short Story Prize are not eligible. Entries from previous regional winners are eligible.
  • Entries from current members of staff at the Commonwealth Foundation are not eligible.
  • Entries must be unpublished and remain unpublished in any language until May 1, 2022.
  • As well as English, stories are accepted in the Bengali, Chinese, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish languages. Translated entries from any language into English are also eligible. If the winning story is a translation, the translator receives additional prize money.

How To Apply:

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2022, The prize is free to enter and open to any citizen of a Commonwealth country who is aged 18 and over. Apply Here

6 thoughts on “Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2022 (Get Up To £5,000) /How To Apply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *